martes, 6 de julio de 2010

Vamos Roja!

Just hours away from the definitive match between Spain and Germany that will decide who goes on to the next and final round of the 2010 World Cup, I sit here thinking of the last time it happened and how Torres scored that magnificent goal that gave us, and them, and all the spaniards around the world the glory we had hoped for, for so long. Now I ponder about that and wonder whether history can repeat itself. And you know what? It can. I leave it there, I don't want to jinx it...All the luck to the National Spanish Football team. They deserve to win. We deserve to win. Vamos Roja!
The dutch already await.

miércoles, 23 de junio de 2010

Summer movies



This summer presents itself with a pretty decent number of interesting films. Already Toy Story 3 has made quite a few eyes weepy and some pockets very very rich. It had the best debut for any Pixar movie, earning an impressive 109 million during its first weekend. Karate Kid has also had a good start, bringing in good reviews and box office numbers, though it's expected to fade away in buzz lightyear's presence. Some important flops have been Sex and the city 2 (which I rather waterboard myself than watch it) or the A-Team (meh). Also Get Him To The Greek has gotten better-than-average reviews which has led some to believe it could be this year's The Hangover, something I doubt since it hasn't impressed in ticket sales.

In the near future of releases, we have some giants coming up. Of course, the
Twilight Saga Eclipse is expected to surpass even its predecessor, New Moon in earnings, something that remains to be seen since I think most people have lost faith in expecting a good twilight film (non-twihards I mean). But its more action-oriented trailers may encourage the male audience to see it, something that has rarely happened in the previous ones. Another giant which I already mentioned is Inception, which could be this year's highlights.

Rotten Tomatoes is reporting decent reviews for
Knight and Day, a movie I wanna see just because it seems a lot of fun, and because it was filmed in Sevilla :) However early reports say it has fallen flat on its first day, another testament to what seems to be quite a disastrous start of the summer season.

viernes, 14 de mayo de 2010

Charlie Kaufman working on Kung Fu Panda script?



A big "huh?????" came out of my mouth when I read this. The Charlie Kaufman? The same guy who wrote Adaptation? Are you kidding me?
Well, apparently not. It seems like the Oscar-winning script writer and director has taken up the job of "polishing" the screenplay for the sequel to the animated movie that featured the talents of Jack Black and Dustin Hoffman. I have no idea what would drive such a talented script writer, if not the best of our times, to accept that offer. Hey, maybe the guy wants to exercise in comedy, who knows. Or maybe his pocket was running low. In any case, let's just rejoice in the fact that at least there will be something out in cinemas soon with Mr. Kaufman's stamp on it.
PS: I liked the first Kung Fu Panda movie, I just don't see why it needs a sequel...Yeah I know it's all about the bottom line.

True Blood preview is here

Hell yeah! True Blood's season 3 preview is here and it looks amazing! This time with werewolves included. And Sookie seems to be more feisty than ever. Fighting to get Bill back and all. "I was raised to fight back", now that's what I call a strong female character. Along with the Vampire Diaries' Elena, these two could rule the world. Talking about TVD, yesterday was the season finale and all I can say is I can't wait for season 2. That was one tense episode. At first I was a skeptic about this show but it just keeps getting better and better. Good thing we have True Blood to quench our thirst this summer!

jueves, 13 de mayo de 2010

The next Dark Knight

Just a few days ago we got the third (and awesome) trailer for Christopher Nolan's Inception. I have to say this movie intrigues me. It fascinates me how after three trailers I still dont't quite know what the movie is about. Strangely enough, I think this only makes me more interested in it. Huh. Clever trick.
Anyhow, after w
atching the previews I truly believe this movie has the potential to be up there with Dark Knight (as far as box office numbers and reviews go) and possibly be one of the best movies this year. Why? Because first Nolan is a genius, and also because of the incredible cast. I think we are in for yet another masterful summer blockbuster by this talented filmmaker.
Realese date: July 16th, worldwide.

Like tears in the rain...

Hello. Here I am starting a blog that I have no idea how long will last or even if I will have time to write. In any case here goes my first post.

"Those moments will be lost in time, like tears in the rain". When I first heard that line in Ridley Scott's Blade Runner, I inmediately fell in l
ove with it. It has remained my favorite scene in any movie I've ever seen, and I doubt that will ever change.
There is probably no other form of entertain
ment that touches so many people and stays with them for the rest of their lives. Movies give people the opportunity to enter another world, to live stories outside their own. We need stories; we need them to shape our own. And that's not escapism, it's a basic human need to understand ourselves and others better. A form of expression and immersion, at the same time.

Indeed, movies serve as a way to capture the pulse of a certain time in history, so that, as Roy Batter would say, those moments are not lost like tears in the rain.
Therefore here goes my humble attempt at writing a blog about films, and their many, many interesting aspects.
Thus, here I leave you with this memorable scene for you to enjoy. Cheers!